Prime Minister’s Literary Awards

Prime Minister's Literary Awards

The winners of the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards were announced at the National Library of Australia this morning. Award winners included:

  • Fiction: Traitor, by Stephen Daisley.
  • Non-fiction: The hard light of day, by Rod Moss
  • Young adult fiction: Graffiti moon, by Cath Crowley, and
  • Children’s fiction: Shake a leg, by Boori Monty Pryor, illustrated by Jan Ormerod.

The full shortlist of entries in each field are available on Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2011 shortlist.

During her speech, prior to the presentation of the awards, Prime Minister Gillard talked about the upcoming National Year of Reading in 2012:

Friends, I know many of you are also keen supporters of the proposed National Year of Reading in 2012. This is an initiative of libraries and library associations around the country, and has quite rightly garnered support from many of you here today. Of course, every year is a year of reading in this most literate and literary of nations. But in 2012, we can take time out to affirm the place of books, reading, ideas and libraries in the fabric of our nation. To that end, I’m proud to announce that the Australian Government will provide $1.3 million in funding to help make the National Year of Reading a success.

The full transcript of the Prime Minister’s speech can be found here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s